T1547.007 — Re-opened Applications
T1547.007: Re-opened Applications
MITRE ATT&CK® Enterprise technique
| Tactics | Persistence, Privilege Escalation |
| Platforms | macOS |
| Permissions required | — |
| Version | 1.2 |
| Parent technique | T1547 |
Description
Adversaries may modify plist files to automatically run an application when a user logs in. When a user logs out or restarts via the macOS Graphical User Interface (GUI), a prompt is provided to the user with a checkbox to "Reopen windows when logging back in".(Citation: Re-Open windows on Mac) When selected, all applications currently open are added to a property list file named <code>com.apple.loginwindow.[UUID].plist</code> within the <code>~/Library/Preferences/ByHost</code> directory.(Citation: Methods of Mac Malware Persistence)(Citation: Wardle Persistence Chapter) Applications listed in this file are automatically reopened upon the user’s next logon.
Adversaries can establish Persistence by adding a malicious application path to the <code>com.apple.loginwindow.[UUID].plist</code> file to execute payloads when a user logs in.
Detection
(no detection guidance published)
Data sources
- (none listed)
References
- ATT&CK page: https://attack.mitre.org/techniques/T1547/007
- ATT&CK Enterprise matrix: https://attack.mitre.org/matrices/enterprise/